Astronauts and Antiquities

Last night I finished a baby blanket for some friends’ baby. The baby is much cuter than the blankie, but that is to be expected 🙂

It was more square than this pic leads you to believe. Honestly it was.

astronaut quilt

Here is a close up of the fun part. I stippled stars and swirlies throughout the black background of the central piece.

close up

 

I don’t usually do hand-stitching that is visible, but I thought I would give it a try on this border. 

hand stitching

 

Yesterday I attended a talk on improving one’s photography skills so I felt inspired to pull out the camera and play with aperture settings. However, I realized that I *still* have to read some more of that huge honking manual so that I can figure out *how* to play with the aperture settings. In the meantime, I got some fun pics of the oldest thing we own. Not exactly an antiquity but still … it is from the Old World. 🙂

cup 1
cup 2

 

cup 4

 
cup 5

~ by thecraftster on March 13, 2009.

3 Responses to “Astronauts and Antiquities”

  1. Beautiful quilt! 🙂

    And, I’m feeling a little dense… what is it that you were photographing??

  2. Im happy so happy to read other crafty blogs! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
